05. October 2021Sustainability Transitions Month

November is the Sustainability Transitions Month, where Transnational Centre for Just Transitions in Energy, Climate and Sustainability- TRAJECTS will be hosting a series of events on these topics across its Latinamerican, African and European regional hubs.

General information Sustainable Transitions Month

Sustainability transitions are highly contested. Different actors hold different views on the preferred direction and pace of the transition, and we often see fierce struggles over public policies or technologies. TRAJECTS aims at advancing the discussion on Transitions to Sustainability by bringing together different actors for co-creating a vision of how a Transition to Sustainability could look like in their respective contexts. The month of Sustainable Transitions will host 8 of these events.

Mobile Sustainable Transition Schools (MSTS) reach to front-line actors being directly affected by or already working for Sustainable Transitions, by engaging with labour unions in fossil fuel extraction, ancestral communities stewarding strategic ecosystems or farmer communities willing to shift to more sustainable practices. MSTS are one of TRAJECTS tools to ground its work on the local perspectives and experiences of those actors at the frontline of Transitions. They aim to (co-) create a new layer of multiplicators on the ground, while valuing and supporting the organization processes already occurring to accelerate Transitions to Sustainability.

Joint Virtual Lectures (JVLs) with (international) guest lecturers from various academic and non-academic partner institutions will be co-hosted by our partner universities allowing for academic and extra-academic exchange. They seek to showcase the research and teaching by TRAJECTS academic partners, as well as high-level guests from other academic institutions. JVLs will be recorded and available online to those students unable to attend the virtual lectures.

Sustainable Transition Dialogues (ST Dialogues) aim to create a more informal shorter discussion space for some of the more contentious or under-studied topics of Transitions to Sustainability. STDs intend to enlarge the perspective that students of sustainability have when approaching the topic while offering an open-access alternative for anyone interested in the topic to connect. This measure has the intention to bring together figures in public administration, business, civil society, academia, university students and front-line communities.

 


Schedule Sustainable Transitions Month

Date Time Event Open for Registration
Tuesday 2 November 15:00-18:00 Germany

08:00-11:00 Colombia

Joint Virtual Lecture 1

Approaching Sustainability from Environmental Economy and Ecological Economy

Students “Environmental Economics” (EUF) and “Economía Ecológica” (UMS) NA
Tuesday 9 November 10:00 – 11:00 Colombia

16:00 – 17:00 Germany

17:00 – 18:00 South Africa

Launch event Sustainability Transitions Month

Location: Santa Marta (COL) + virtual (streaming)

Semi-virtual event

– Virtual: Public

– Physical: per invitation only

 

Online registration  –  Will open on Oct. 15
TBD 14:00-16:00 Germany

07:00-09:00 Colombia

Joint Virtual Lecture 2

Energy Transitions in Latin America and Europe: comparative perspectives

Students

“Energy Economics” (EUF) and “Economía Ecológica” (UNAL)

NA
Thursday 11 November 9:00 – 12:00 Colombia

15:00 – 18:00 Germany

16:00 – 19:00 South Africa

ST Dialogue 1
UniMadgalena (COL) – Challenges of Mine Closures in the Colombian Caribbean Region
Semi-virtual event

– Virtual: Public

– Physical: per invitation only

 

Online registration  –  Will open on Oct. 15
Friday 12 November 3pm CET – 8am COT

 

Duration: 2 hours

ST Dialogue 2
UNAL (COL)– Agroecological Alternatives for Mine Closures in the Colombian Caribbean Region
Semi-virtual event

– Virtual: Public

– Physical: per invitation only

 

Online registration  –  Will open on Oct. 15
Thursday 18 November 15:00 – 17:00 South Africa

14:00 – 16:00 Germany

9:00 – 11:00 Colombia

ST Dialogue 3
– UCT (ZAF)

Alternative employment opportunities for Mpumalanga’s coal transition

Semi-virtual event

– Virtual: Public

– Physical: per invitation only

 

Online registration  –  Will open on Oct. 15
Friday

19 November

14:00-16:00 Germany

15:00 – 17:00 South Africa

8:00 – 10:00 Colombia

ST Dialogue 4
– TUB /EUF (DEU)

Coal phase-out in Germany: Challenges and Lessons Learned

Semi-virtual event

– Virtual: Public

– Physical: per invitation only

 

Online registration  –  Will open on Oct. 15
Wednesday

24

November

14:00-16:00 Germany

07:00-09:00 Colombia

Joint Virtual Lecture 3

Mining, energy transition and environmental conflicts

Students

“Tópico de profundización en temas ambientales” (UNAL) and tbd (EUF)

NA

 


 

Detailed information Sustainable Transitions Month

——– site under construction, apologies for the inconvenience —-

ST Dialogue 1 – UniMadgalena (COL) – Challenges of Mine Closures in the Colombian Caribbean Region

ST Dialogue 2 – UNAL (COL)– Agroecological Alternatives for Mine Closures in the Colombian Caribbean Region

ST Dialogue 3 – UCT (ZAF) – Alternative employment opportunities for Mpumalanga’s coal transition

ST Dialogue 4 – TUB /EUF (DEU) – Coal phase-out in Germany: Challenges and Lessons Learned

Joint Virtual Lecture 1 – EUF (DEU)/UMS (COL) – Approaching Sustainability from Environmental Economy and Ecological Economy

Joint Virtual Lecture 2 – EUF (DEU)/UNAL (COL) –Energy Transitions in Latin America and Europe: comparative perspectives

Joint Virtual Lecture 3 – TBC (DEU) /UNAL (COL) –Mining, energy transition and environmental conflicts

 

More information at:

 trajects.events@gmail.com